Going Gaited Online Magazine ASK THE EXPERT Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pacing when asked for speed

3 posters

Go down

Pacing when asked for speed Empty Pacing when asked for speed

Post by Sunny Admin Sat Feb 20, 2010 3:18 pm

I have a beautiful very small (maybe 14HH) Reg. RMH mare. She is 12yrs old and used to be shown but has been a broodmare for a couple years. I bought her when she still had a baby belly. We are working on the belly. I am new to gaiting and the barn I board (in Wisconsin) is mostly APHA and QHs. When every I ask my girl to pick up a little speed she wants to start pacing. What is the best way to work on getting her to gait faster without breaking into a pace. Not sure if it matters but she is not shod. Also, any ideas/thoughts on how to strengthen her abs and other then feed work on getting her belly back in shape, because she is so short in stature its hard to hide the belly.

Thanks,
Kathy
Sunny Admin
Sunny Admin

Back to top Go down

Pacing when asked for speed Empty Re: Pacing when asked for speed

Post by Susan Brown Sat Feb 20, 2010 5:37 pm

SUSAN: Kathy,

It is nice to hear from you. Your question is a common one, especially in your region, where gaited horses are less common.

Firstly, regarding your question about your horse's baby belly, I believe that with proper diet, and lots of riding, her belly should naturally diminish over time. Be sure to ask your veterinarian about your concerns when he comes out for fall shots.

Since you mentioned that your horse has been shown, this tells me that she has been previously trained to go into an evenly timed four-beat gait. For a Rocky Mountain Horse, this is the rack. My guess is that with some collection, drive, and a balanced seat, that she will easily remember how to perform the gait correctly and smoothly.