Going Gaited Online Magazine ASK THE EXPERT Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Groundwork for unhandled colts

4 posters

Go down

Groundwork for unhandled colts Empty Groundwork for unhandled colts

Post by Sunny Admin Sat Feb 20, 2010 4:00 pm

Hi Cheryl, We bought an unhandled 3 year old Paso Fino gelding who is afraid of human contact, and most especially afraid of being trapped. He panics and gets much worse in his trust issues when exposed to round pen training. It is very difficult to touch him, and impossible to halter him. Although I have a degree in psychology and understand operant conditioning, I am old-school in my horse training, and have trouble letting that go. I was also raised by authoritative parents, so "Do it because I said so!" is the extent of my personal conditioning. As you see, my problem is me, not him, so I am asking for your help. Where do I start in attraction training with him? He will approach us (but no closer than arm's length), is very curious, and will sometimes take treats from our hands. We hope to use his curiosity and your instruction to help him understand that we are fun people, and he will enjoy working with us! Thanks for any help you can provide.

Julie in Michigan
Sunny Admin
Sunny Admin

Back to top Go down

Groundwork for unhandled colts Empty Re: Groundwork for unhandled colts

Post by Cheryl Ward Sat Feb 20, 2010 6:13 pm

Hi Julie,

Congratulations, I think you’re in for a real treat. You’re already off to a great start with a very clear understanding of your thoughts about training and your horse’s thoughts about being trained. The other treat is the chance to be that dreamy parent or trainer that instructs with logic and lessons that feel so good your horse never has to ask why.