Going Gaited Online Magazine ASK THE EXPERT Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

my walker sometimes paces when he wants to keep up with other horses

3 posters

Go down

my walker sometimes paces when he wants to keep up with other horses Empty my walker sometimes paces when he wants to keep up with other horses

Post by fxdharley31 Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:01 am

[font=Impact]he get's a bit jarring when he is doing a run walk and tries to keep up with other horses. it is like a pace. will chains on his front feet help him to pick them up higher and maybe correct this? any suggestions?
fxdharley31
fxdharley31

Back to top Go down

my walker sometimes paces when he wants to keep up with other horses Empty Re: my walker sometimes paces when he wants to keep up with other horses

Post by Got_gait Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:12 pm

Hey there. I'm not a professional trainer, but I hold my own so I thought I'd put my two cents in here. There are all sorts of things you can do TO your horse in order to get him to DO something or STOP doing something. All of them are a band-aid to help manipulate the outcome without actually solving the problem. Your horse paces to catch up because he is anxious. Anxiety leads to stiffness of frame, stiffness leads to pacing. It's a problem of relaxation. If you deal with teaching your horse to relax on the trail, even when other horses are moving out of sight, he'll just learn to walk faster, or maybe pick up a rack. Many people with this problem do a hide and seek exercise where horses are rewarded as they keep calm when the horses they are riding with get out of sight, and then they go "find" the others. (The others are waiting just around the bend). When it is turned into a game, the horse relaxes and becomes confident that the other horses are just up ahead, losing some of the anxiety of being by himself. When the experts chime in here, they'll have some other things for you to try,